Posted by: Dude in the Desert | April 6, 2010

6 April 10

OK, so my friend is a little retarded or something …normally if you give a time–example: 0245 Local–then you mean the next time the clock hits that particular minute…well, my friend told me when they were taking off, but he neglected to mention that it wasn’t last night, it’s tonight… so, I went out to the passenger terminal with some other AF people wiating on their replacements, and we stood around for an hour or two…no AF personnel getting off any planes…mind you, the terminal is the only place people come in when they get off a plane–one small building, so the place is packed with people coming and going and there are constantly different military flights landing here from all over the world …it’s kind of difficult to get to any counter and ask what flights have arrived and what flights are coming in…there is one customer service counter and it’s always packed with people trying to get space-available seating on all these thousands of military birds flying around the AOR…so we’re sitting and waiting and waiting and sitting…finally I went snooping around and saw a guy coming out of an office where it looked like they might have some info on all the flights…so, I asked about this particular flight…we looked up names, numbers, codes, times, dates, and any other tiny bit of info you can find out about a specific flight…yeah, we were there 24 hours early…it doesn’t help that some people use Zulu time (Greenwich Mean Time), and my boy is using his local time, I am using my local time–and of course Afghanistan has to be the most ass-backwards country with their time being a half an hour off everyone else in the freakin world …they can’t be 2 hrs, 6 hrs, or 10 hrs, —noooo, they have to be 1 hr and 30 minutes off, or 6 hrs and 30 minutes…who the hell goes 30 minutes off of everyone else ?? ridiculous…anyhoo… about 0500 we all headed back to the camp because we finally figured out that they were not coming in…so, again tonight we will head out there in the wee hours of the morning …I think I’ll smack my friend in the back of the neck for this one …so, I woke up at 1500 hrs today because I couldn’t get to sleep until about 0800 this morning, and then it was noisy all day, so I’m still not really rested…but, I did get up and go to the gym, and hit up the chow hall…now I’m just chillin and will prob be awake all night again and sleep all day tomorrow…and, my schedule is gonna be all kinds of jacked up for a few days…oh well, I’ll just have to deal with it…not too much longer …OK, well love you and miss you all…talk to you soon
OOL
B


Responses

  1. Sounds like a fun time at the terminal! I try to be more specific when I give a time for arrival or departure…i.e., “0245 Monday” or “next Wednesday, not tomorrow”…or “next Wednesday, 14 April.” I think we all have different definitions when talking about time or days. But you always manage to keep an even keel and not let little things like this bother you. OOL

  2. yes, Ma, it’s all good — no worries… nothing can break my stride now, we’re almost out of here and I am fully in good spirits
    OOL

  3. Congratulations for making the finalists in the milblogging awards. I just wanted to give you a nod as to the good work you’ve been doing. I know this was for your Mom, and the two of you have been just super during the course of your deployment.

    Glad you’ll be home soon.

  4. It’s been a LONG 6 months Bri……. SOoooo happy you’re done and on the way back to the 21st century.

    OOL,
    AK


Leave a comment

Categories